New Feature - Payments Across Tenancies
Payments Are Changing!
This change affects those who share paid content with other tenancies. Please read the below to see how this affects you and what actions you can take.
This change will be in effect from 18 October 2022.
Payments Across Tenancies
When you share paid content with another tenant, the users in the shared tenant do not pay for the content. Some of you have found workarounds by duplicating the content across the tenancies and then applying payments to each. It becomes a hassle to maintain your content as you have to remember to make changes in every tenant in which you made the content (not to mention headaches when it comes to reporting!).
To solve this, we are introducing cross-tenancy payments. You now only need to create a Course or Live Learning once and share it with your other tenants — any payment settings will automatically apply in the shared tenants.
What do I do to enable payment across tenants?
No action is needed. Any Courses or Live Learnings that are already being shared will automatically have payment settings applied in the shared tenants.
If you have been duplicating content across tenants rather than sharing, then you will not be affected by this change, though you are welcome to start sharing content. Reach out to support if you need help on how to best move to content sharing.
Can someone else run a Payment report in another tenant and view my payments?
Only the content owners (e.g., the originating content tenant) can run a Payment Report for that content. You can view the usernames of any user who pays for that content (and what tenant they are from).
But I want users in the shared tenant to have the content for free!
Well, in that case, you could take two different actions to still give users content for free.
1. Using Cohorts and Payment Whitelist
This option uses Cohorts and Payment Whitelisting, and can be configured at any time.
Payment Whitelisting is a feature available to Cohorts. Users who belong to a cohort with Payment Whitelist enabled will be able to access all content for free (content from their tenant and shared with their tenant).
- If the Payment Whitelist feature is not turned on for your site, our support team can turn this on for you (reach out if you are unsure).
- Once it is enabled for your site, an Acorn Admin can enable the feature for specific tenants. Under Tenancy Management > Browse and Update Tenancies, find the tenant you want to turn the feature on and click on the features Pencil.
- Turn on the Payment Whitelist feature for the tenant. (Remember to click Update Features at the bottom of the feature list to save)
.png?width=688&height=413&name=mceclip0%20(38).png)
- Next, edit the relevant Cohort under User Management > Manage Cohorts and enable the Payment Whitelist feature for that Cohort.
.png?width=688&height=461&name=mceclip1%20(14).png)
2. Using Discounts
Using Shared Discounts, you are able to setup a discount and restrict it to a selected Tenant. From there you can select the content and cohorts for that tenant should you require further restrictions.